martinbeaverMartin Beaver & Friends

Friday, July 14 at 7:30pm
Walter Hall

Martin Beaver, violin
Owen Dalby, viola
Christopher Costanza, cello
Angela Park, piano


Mozart: Duo No. 1 in G major for violin and viola, K. 423
Beethoven: Sonata No. 7 in C minor for violin and piano, Op. 30 No. 2
Hector Gratton: Quatrième Danse Canadienne
Arensky: Piano Trio No. 1 in D minor, Op. 32

The distinguished Canadian violinist Martin Beaver – of whom the Ottawa Citizen has written “…Beaver kept the excitement high from beginning to end. His passionate playing maintained a drive and focus that never wavered” – headlines this diverse and appealing program. He’s joined by one half of the St. Lawrence String Quartet: Owen Dalby on viola and cellist Christopher Costanza, plus pianist Angela Park. Trust Mozart to wring every possible drop of art and invention from just two string instruments, in this delectable Duo. He composed it as a favour to a friend, Michael Haydn, who due to illness was unable to complete a commission for six such pieces from Mozart’s despised former employer, Hieronymous Colleredo, Prince-Archbishop of Salzburg. Mozart cleverly crafted it to replicate Haydn’s style, and Colleredo accepted it as Haydn’s work. In its drama and grandeur, Beethoven’s C Minor Violin Sonata provides a perfectly satisfying contrast to the Mozart Duo. Martin Beaver & Co. conclude the recital with a tuneful Trio by Russian composer Anton Arensky, who carried on the folk-flavoured style of his teacher, Tchaikovsky.

Tickets are on sale NOW!

To purchase tickets click HERE!

Buy a Festival or a Flex Pass and SAVE (by phone or in person only)!  For more information click here.

Passes are available over the phone or in person.


© Copyright 2017 Toronto Summer Music
All Rights Reserved.

Toronto Summer Music  506-2333 Dundas Street West, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M6R 3A6
 tel: 647-430-5699; fax: 647-430-5698  e-mail: info(at)  Box Office:  416-408-0208