Angela Park 2017Dvořák Piano Trio
Wednesday, July 26 at 7:30pm
Walter Hall

Jonathan Crow, violin
Andrew Wan, violin
Steven Dann, viola 

Joseph Johnson, cello
Desmond Hoebig, cello
Angela Park, piano


Uriel Vanchestein:  Les Veuves for string quartet
Morawetz:  Sonata No. 3 for Violin and Piano
Dohnanyi:  Serenade for String Trio, Op.10
Dvořák:  Piano Trio in f minor, Op.56

There’s a definite, deeply melodic Eastern European flavour to this enormously attractive program, with its repertoire by Czech, Hungarian, and Czech/Canadian composers. Antonín Dvořák composed the third of his four Piano Trios in 1883, shortly after the death of his beloved mother. Much of it is so sorrowful and poignant that surely it must represent what he was feeling at that time. Yet all’s well that ends well, as the sun breaks through in the finale. The five compact movements that make up Ernő Dohnányi’s Serenade show this admirable Hungarian composer at his most charming. To celebrate the centenary of one of Canada’s most recognized composers, Czech-born Oskar Morawetz (1917-2007), Jonathan Crow and Angela Park perform Sonata No. 3 for violin and piano (1985). Les Veuves (The Widows) by Uriel Vanchestein, whose compositions have been performed on four continents in such prestigious venues as the Verbier Festival in Switzerland, and Carnegie Hall, completes the bill.

Tickets are on sale NOW!

To purchase tickets click HERE!

Buy a Festival or a Flex Pass and SAVE (by phone or in person only)!  For more information click here.

Passes are available over the phone or in person.



© Copyright 2015 Toronto Summer Music
All Rights Reserved.

Toronto Summer Music 90 Wellesley Street West, Suite 212, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5S 1C5
 tel: 647-430-5699; fax: 647-430-5698  e-mail: info(at)  Box Office:  416-408-0208