crow-photo_1_tso_credit_sian_richardsJonathan Crow
Monday, July 31 at 7:30pm
Walter Hall

Jonathan Crow, violin
Philip Chiu, piano


Debussy: Sonata for Violin and Piano in G minor, L. 140
Healey Willan: Sonata No. 1 in E minor for violin and piano, HWC 100
Elgar: Selections for Violin and Piano
Ravel: Sonata No. 2 in G major for violin and piano, M. 77

In this tribute to the two founding nations of Canada, Jonathan Crow, TSMF Artistic Director and Concertmaster of the TSO, joins forces with pianist Philip Chiu for a program of top-drawer French, English and English/Canadian pieces. Their recital offers the welcome opportunity to compare Violin Sonatas by the two most important French composers of the early twentieth century. Their completions separated in time by a decade, the Sonatas by Debussy (1917) and Ravel (1927) are quite different in character. Debussy’s (his final work) is crisp and neo-classical; the Ravel, brilliant and “popular” in style. The second movement is a stylized blues, complete with syncopated rhythms and bent, “blue” notes. English-born composer Healey Willan (1880-1968) emigrated to Canada in 1913. He spent the remaining 55 years of his life here, earning high distinction as composer, teacher and organ soloist. His music follows traditional late-romantic models such as Elgar, a selection of whose engaging violin miniatures you will also hear at this recital (including, of course, his “greatest hit,” that evergreen chestnut, Salut d’amour).


Tickets are on sale NOW!

To purchase tickets click HERE!

Buy a Festival or a Flex Pass and SAVE (by phone or in person only)!  For more information click here.

Passes are available over the phone or in person.



© Copyright 2017 Toronto Summer Music
All Rights Reserved.

Toronto Summer Music  506-2333 Dundas Street West, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M6R 3A6
 tel: 647-430-5699; fax: 647-430-5698  e-mail: info(at)  Box Office:  416-408-0208