2015 Festival - The New World

Open Rehearsal: Elizabeth Sprague Coolidge

July 24, 3:15-4:00pm IMG_5682

Walter Hall, Edward Johnson Building

Free admission


Ernst Kovacic, violin
Jonathan Crow, violin
Steven Dann, viola
Henrik Brendstrup, cello
Huw Watkins, piano
Joanna G’froerer, flute,

Prokofiev: String Quartet No. 1 in B Minor, Op. 50
Poulenc: Flute Sonata
Britten: String Quartet No. 1 in D Major, Op. 25
Bloch: Piano Quintet No. 1

The astonishingly generous and insightful American arts patron, Elizabeth Sprague Coolidge (1864-1953), commissioned A-list composers from several countries to create new pieces. This concert displays both the superlative quality of this magnificent legacy and the diversity of its contents, from the passionate emotional substance of Prokofiev and Bloch, to the cheeky humour shared by the young Britten and the mature Poulenc.

© Copyright 2017 Toronto Summer Music
All Rights Reserved.

Toronto Summer Music  506-2333 Dundas Street West, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M6R 3A6
 tel: 647-430-5699; fax: 647-430-5698  e-mail: info(at)torontosummermusic.com  Box Office:  416-408-0208